January Favourites

Hello everyone, Happy Saturday! I know most of you will agree when I say that January has gone sooooo slow and I am so glad it’s nearly over that I am sat here with a (few glasses of) Amaretto and coke to celebrate the end of such a dull month! This is actually my first ever ‘Favourites’ post so I am quite excited about posting it! 🙂

10944206_10152535749046470_571769539_n

You will probably notice most of the things in my January Favourites are budget items but this is because I was out of work for about a month resulting in a bit of a spending ban. You may also notice that there are no hair products at all and this is because my hair is is such bad condition at the moment that I have had to go on bit of a hair products detox.

Nails 

10957929_10152535750021470_1213189371_n

I have three favourite nail products that I have used so much this month.

10926437_10152510133031470_7132656439743635192_n

First of all its my cute as hell nail file from NPW Gifts. I actually got this in the Boots January sale for only £1 and I genuinely love how cute it is and how great it is for silly selfies (this is not why I bought it, I promise).

10965382_10152535820756470_1064845045_n

The next of my favourites is an Essie Nail Polish ‘Boxer Shorts’. I first bought this polish when I was living in California and I have loved it ever since. I love both Essie and pastel polishes so this has probably been one of my favourites for a lot longer than one month. It is so easy to apply, only takes two coats and it drys super quick. Every time I run out I buy more, and I know that isn’t going to change any time soon.

Finally, the P.S. Love Your Nails Nail Polish Twist Pot has made it into my favourites for this month purely because of how amazing it is. I hate removing nail polish but this makes it so easy and mess free as you don’t end up with tonnes of cotton wool or Nail Polish Remover Pads all over the place (which is a very common sight in my house). The best thing about this is that is only costs £1 from Primark. I will definitely be buying this again when it starts to dry out, although that doesn’t seem possible as there is so much liquid.

Body

10965347_10152535840656470_509516176_n

My body favourites for this month are actually two things I have mention before on my blog, but I love them so much I want to tell you about them all over again. Soap and Glory’s WHIPPED CLEAN™ is fabulous and something I love using. It’s effectively a shower gel and moisturiser all in one, however the texture is perfect for shaving creme. It smells like frosting and I can not get over how great it makes my skin feel.

The Aussie body wash ‘Shower Smoothie’ is from the new body wash range and it does not disappoint. It is made with Macadamia nut oil which actually makes your skin feel amazing and smooth, not to mention the awesome bubble gum smell too.

10965414_10152535749781470_1509370334_n

Not only is my Victoria’s Secret Vanilla Lace Fragrance Mist a favourite, but it is also an empty, which I am extremely sad about. I first tried this body mist when I was in California and I loved the scent so much I stocked up on loads to bring back to the UK. Last year I tracked some down in a store in London but now that I have moved to the middle of nowhere it is probably going to be a little more difficult to get a hold of :(! Anyway, this body mist is amazing. It smells so sweet and I always get compliments when I am wearing it, even from strangers!

Face

10965546_10152535749141470_339709472_n 961809_10152535749446470_1178569596_n

Lately I have been getting terrible dry skin on my face, so I had to find a face cream to help this. I really like the Nivea Daily Essentials Day Cream as it has definitely helped to reduce my dry skin and it is perfect for combining with my liquid foundation for a great base for my foundation.

The foundation I have been using the most this month is the Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse as it has a great matte effect, it’s light and it gives great coverage. I have probably been using this product on and off since I was about 16 and it is definitely a firm favourite for me in terms of drugstore foundations. The only thing I will say is it is not great for my dry patches, but with a little bit of moisturiser beforehand it is great.

10968122_10152535749351470_1805820207_n 10904209_10152535749256470_735532489_n

The Euphoria Bronzed Palette by Makeup Revolution kinda comes under both face and eyes, however the most used part for me is the contour kit. This Palette is definitely my most used product of January and I honestly recommend that all go and buy it now, as I don’t know how I would live without it. First of all, the 6 eye-shadows are beautifully pigmented and the nude shades are great for in the day. I use these shades often and its great to have them together in a handy palette with a contour kit – which perfect for travelling or doing your makeup on the run. The contour kit is amazing, especially the bronzer as it is a very warm shade, perfect for my pale skin.  I would probably go as far as to say this palette is a great dupe in terms of shades of Urban Decay Naked on the Run, minus the eyeliner, mascara and lip gloss of course. For only £6, this is definitely something I will be repurchasing again and again.

Eyes

10877895_10152535749501470_1626132525_n

I am having such a difficult time getting my eye makeup perfect lately that I have been sticking to quite natural styles. If it’s not my winged eyeliner messing up its my ‘unnoticeable eyelashes’ that I am complaining about, so I have been playing it safe with a few basics. The Rimmel BIG EYES mascara definitely makes my eyelashes a bit more noticeable (not as much as I would like, but its a great improvement) and I love how there are separate brushes for my top and bottom lashes – they really make a difference. The eyeliner, which you can’t see very well, is the Makeup Revolution All Day and All Night ‘One Sin Too Many’ Eyeliner. This does exactly what it says on the tin and stays on throughout the majority of the day, I only really need to re-apply if I am going out again at night but that’s probably just for my own piece of mind, haha.

10967734_10152535749671470_1930690604_n 10933129_10152535749566470_1012474010_n

I can not get enough of the W7 In the Buff Palette that I had for Christmas as it is an amazing Urban Decay Naked 2 dupe, especially for £5! As you can probably tell I have used this palette A LOT this month, particularly for the nude and natural shades towards the first half of the palette. I have gone for the smokey look a few times too and the shades in this palette are absolutely perfect for it especially as they are super pigmented. As far as a Naked dupe goes, this palette is definitely one I would recommend.

Lips

10956069_10152535749846470_1188400927_n

I am a huge lip balm junkie and it was difficult to pick just one for my favourites, however Soap and Glory’s A Great Kisser came out on top. This peachy lip balm smells good enough to eat and is a great lip balm too, making my lips feel extra soft which is a difficult task in this cold weather. In terms of lipstick I think I have a bit of an obsession but Makeup Revolutions ‘Rebel with Cause’ was my favourite this month hands down. I have only worn it a few times, however every time I do I go selfie mad as I think it looks stunning. I am really loving both dark and berry lips at the moment so this shade is the perfect combination.

There you have it! My favourites for January…There are a lot more products that I did want to talk about however I decided not everything could be a favourite, otherwise it defeats the object of the post. So, do we have any of the same favourites? If not, what’s on your list? Feel free to comment with the links to your January Favourites posts as I love reading them!

Kirsty Leanne

7 thoughts on “January Favourites

    • Hey! Thank you sweet! I have already done a Liebster Award post but hopefully sometime this week or next I can squeeze in another! Thank you for the nomination! We have so much in common too, of course I’m ginger, My guilty pleasure is Taylor Swift (I answered that in my last award post haha) and I am in marketing 🙂 xx

      Like

      • Omg practically twins haha! Well don’t worry about doing another post if you’ve already won one before we don’t want your posts to only be about award you’ve won, people might start thinking you’re a show off! Haha xxx

        Like

      • Haha! That’s very true, thank you for the nomination though 🙂 I love your blog by the way, have spent the last god knows how long stalking it haha xx

        Like

      • Haha thank you, it’s still a work in progress. I changed the layout yesterday and somehow it deleted all my widgets so that took a few hours to get back up and running again! Xxx

        Like

Leave a Reply

