Taking a Step in The Right Direction – Joining Slimming World

Tonight I made an absolutely huge step and I re-joined Slimming World. Those of you that have me on Twitter probably know that recently I have been complaining about how much I wan to lose weight lately so I am finally taking a step in the right direction.

I first joined Slimming World when I was 16 and weight 12 st 13 lb, which I thought was a lot back then. I had spent pretty much all of my school life being bullied for being both fat and ginger, so when I started college I decided I was fed up of not liking the way I looked. My Mum was a member of Slimming World and she encouraged me to join, and I am so glad she did. Throughout my two years of college I attended meetings every Tuesday where I was weighed by my consultant. I was the youngest in my group, but I really didn’t mind.

Over the course of the two years I managed to lose just over 2 stone and I was a few lbs off my 10 st 7 lbs target. I fit into size 8/10 clothes, which was the first time I had ever been able to do say that, I felt amazing. I followed the plan to the book and I even won a few different awards such as Miss Slinky and Slimmer of the Year and I was so proud of what I was able to achieve (even while working at McDonald’s!). The last weight loss I remember was just before I went on holiday to Newquay and I lost 3 lbs in 4 days as I was trying to boost my weight loss before my holidays and weighed in early. The pictures below are me at my lowest ever weight.

272442_10150229752216470_2745539_o269914_10150229805061470_633954_n

I put 5 lbs on during my holiday and after that I couldn’t really find the motivation to carry on. I guess I thought that as I was happy with how I looked I didn’t have to carry on dieting anymore. That September I was due to move to London for University when I tripped and fell down the stairs and broke a bone and tore a ligament in my foot. I decided to still go to University as I didn’t want to be a year behind, but being in London for the first time is extremely difficult on crutches, I had a lot of trouble getting around, especially on the Tube as there were so many stairs. I ended up being on crutches for four months which was horrible as I couldn’t really get out so I ended up turning to food instead. By January my lack of exercise combined with my poor diet meant I had put on all of the weight I had lost – and then some! I was so disappointed in myself that I re-joined Slimming World again but half way through my first week I got frustrated that I couldn’t eat what I wanted and I never went back.

A couple of months later my Boyfriend of 3/4 years broke up with me which unsurprisingly did wonders for my weight. I stopped eating as much and started drinking more and the lbs started dropping off faster than they went on. I then decided to do something I had always dreamed off and their was a perfect opportunity for me to do it while I was student – I moved to America for the Summer. Up until I left for California I continued to lose weight and ended up around a stone and a half lighter than I was in the January. I wasn’t at my lowest, but I certainly felt at a comfortable(ish) weight for my height.

10984767_10152569555266470_1333928198_n11005911_10152569555036470_34263550_n

However, California is so dangerous for someone who loves food, especially when I only had four months to try EVERYTHING. I ate Sprinkles Cupcakes from Beverly Hill, Fried Oreo’s on Venice Beach, Street Tacos in Mexico and well, everything else. I had Starbucks every day for lunch at work and would come home and make pop tarts or grilled cheese, I was so unhealthy! When in Rome, right? The only thing I can say is that I had a pool where I was living so I spent a lot of time in there, so I was finally getting a decent amount of exercise after breaking my foot. When I finally left to come back to London for my second year, I had put on quite a bit of weight. I was so nervous about meeting new people at the weight I was that I didn’t really start to make any new friends until November/December time. I spent a lot of times with my friends from my course as we went out pretty much every night. Four months of not being old enough to drink in America turned me into a bit of a party animal and my diet was ruined by copious amounts of alcohol and 4 am takeaways. Student life, eh?

Between then and now my weight hasn’t yo-yo-ed much, its kind of sky rocketed instead. Since I came back from California I have put on just over 3 stone, which is unbelievable. There was a point last year where I lost 1 1/2 stone in a couple of months, but yep, you guessed it! I’ve put it all back on again, which brings us to right now. I am now at the heaviest I have ever been and I am determined it is the heaviest I will ever be. The pictures below are from August and November last year but they are the most recent full size pictures that I have of myself, I tend to avoid other people taking pictures of me as I hate that they don’t know the angles that make me look skinny. I haven’t been out with my friends or made any effort to make new friends since I moved back to Telford purely because I don’t like getting dressed up to go out and being the biggest person there. I even feel silly in nice clothes at work as I feel like I can’t ‘pull them off’. I have finally had enough and I wanted to make a huge change.

10394840_10152134831301470_2196771336705593685_n 10609437_10152390911436470_3336345343779178559_n

I think that re-joining a group is exactly what I need to keep myself focused and is definitely what I need to finally get back to the weight that I was. Although I know it will take a while, going to a group every week to get weighed will keep me motivated . It was quite exciting reading my new members pack and I really can’t wait to start seeing the results. I know the first week is always the hardest as I have had so many ‘first weeks’ but I am happy I am finally doing something about it, rather than just saying I will.

11007424_10152569476306470_1873068373_n11004283_10152569474471470_806471505_n

From now on I will post weekly blog posts telling you how I have done each weigh in, whether it is good or bad. I’ll share a few of my favourite meals and what I have done to get the results I have. I am hoping that posting it for everyone to see will help keep my motivated, but may also motivate others to get involved too. I know how hard it is to kick start something like this and it is so much easier with others.

So, here goes…..

Kirsty Leanne

3 thoughts on “Taking a Step in The Right Direction – Joining Slimming World

  1. There is no way you are fat but I know what it’s like to not be comfortable with the way you look. Good luck and I hope you reach your ideal weight xx

    Like

    • Thank you sweet! I am around 4 and a half stone heavier than I was when I first left slimming world, it’s so hard to believe! It may take a while to get there but I hope I do… Thank you xx

      Like

  2. Pingback: Slimming World Diary – Week #1 | Just a Little Bit Ginger

Leave a Reply

